Utkal Diwas, also known as Odisha Day or Utkala Dibasa, is a significant annual celebration held in the Indian state of Odisha. It is observed on 1st April every year to commemorate the formation of the state of Odisha on April 1, 1936. This day holds immense cultural and historical importance for the people of Odisha, as it represents the culmination of a long-standing struggle for a separate state, distinct from the combined Bihar and Orissa provinces during the British colonial era.

April Fool’s Day, celebrated on April 1st every year, is a day dedicated to humor, pranks, and light-hearted fun. Despite be including an unofficial holiday, it enjoys widespread recognition and participation across the globe,ing in India. This article delves into the history, significance, and modern-day celebrations of April Fool’s Day, highlighting its cultural importance and the joy it brings to people worldwide.

On March 29, 2024, Prime Minister Narendra Modi was honoured with the ‘Merchant Navy Flag’, pinned on his lapel by Secretary T.K. Ramachandran of the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways. This marked the beginning of the National Maritime Week celebrations, which span from March 29 to April 5. National Maritime Week is celebrated to honour the services of seafarers and commemorate a proud moment in India’s maritime history. It pays tribute to the invaluable contributions of seafarers.

Professor Meena Charanda, Principal of Kalindi College, Delhi University, has been awarded the prestigious ‘International Culture Award’ for the year 2024. Prof. Charanda received this honour in recognition of her remarkable work in the field of education and social service. The award ceremony took place on March 30, 2024, at the India International Center.

Vineet Jain, the managing director of the Times Group, received the prestigious Exchange4Media News Broadcasting Awards (ENBA) Lifetime Achievement Award 2023 for his significant contributions to Indian television news. While accepting the award at a ceremony on Saturday, Jain attributed the achievement to the collective efforts of teams at the Times Group. He also acknowledged the unwavering support of his elder brother, Samir Jain, throughout their journey of expanding and diversifying the group.

Hardik Singh and Salima Tete were named the Players of the Year for 2023 in the men’s and women’s categories, respectively, at the sixth annual Hockey India Awards. During the event, Hockey India announced the revival of the Hockey India League (HIL), which will return in January 2025 after a hiatus since 2017. The revived league will feature eight men’s teams and six women’s teams, with auctions likely to be held after the Paris Olympics. The awards ceremony saw teams and individuals felicitated for their achievements in the past year, with a total prize pool of Rs. 7.56 crores.

The top-seeded duo of Rohan Bopanna from India and Matthew Ebden from Australia won the Men’s Doubles Title at the Miami Open, a prestigious ATP Masters tennis tournament. In an exciting final, they defeated the second seeds Ivan Dodig and Austin Krajicek with a score of 6-7(3), 6-3, [10-6]. This Miami Open triumph marks the second title of the season for Bopanna and Ebden. Earlier this year, they won the Australian Open in Melbourne, making it a remarkable start to their partnership.

Joyshree Das Verma has taken over as the 41st National President of the FICCI Ladies Organisation (FLO) for the year 2024-25. FLO is the oldest women-led and women-centric business chamber of South East Asia. With a 25-year journey in the corporate and entrepreneurial sectors, Joyshree Das Verma has nurtured a diverse professional presence. She holds the position of Honorary Consul of Israel for Northeast India and is the Director of Kaapro Management Solutions Pvt Ltd, her pan-India entrepreneurial HR consulting company where she is a co-promoter.

The Jawaharlal Nehru University Teachers Association (JNUTA) has appointed a new team of office-bearers for the term of 2024-2025, according to a statement released. Moushumi Basu, a professor at the School of International Studies, has been appointed as the next JNUTA president. The teachers’ body has appointed Meenakshi Sundriyal and Pradeep K Shinde as vice-presidents of JNUTA.

The Financial Services Institutions Bureau (FSIB), the head-hunting agency for public sector banks and insurance firms, has selected the next Chairpersons and Managing Directors (CMDs) for New India Assurance and United India Insurance. Girija Subramanian, the current Chairperson and MD of Agriculture Insurance Company (AIC), has been selected as the next CMD of New India Assurance. Bhupesh Sushil Rahul, a General Manager at AIC, has been chosen as the new CMD of United India Insurance.

Amidst the growing buzz around Artificial Intelligence (AI), the trailer and song launch event for India’s first Hindi film on this subject, “IRAH,” took place in Mumbai. The movie boasts an impressive cast, including Rohit Bose Roy, Rajesh Sharma, Karishma Kotak, and Rakshith Bhandarry in prominent roles. Produced by Big Films Media and directed by Sam Bhattacharjee, “IRAH” is set to hit theaters nationwide on April 4th, 2024, through Iamplex Digital Theatrical Distribution. The event was graced by the presence of music composer Sameer Sen.

Saudi Arabia has been chosen to chair the UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), despite widespread criticism due to its poor record on women’s rights. The appointment of Saudi Ambassador Abdulaziz Alwasil has sparked outrage from human rights groups, given the stark disparity between the kingdom’s actions and the commission’s mandate to promote gender equality.

Romania and Bulgaria have taken a significant step in their integration with the European Union by partially joining the Schengen travel zone. While travelers arriving by air or sea now enjoy ID-check-free access, land border checks persist due to opposition from Austria.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

No comments to show.