On January 28, we celebrate the birth anniversary of Field Marshal Kodandera M. Cariappa, the inaugural Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Army. Recognized as a national hero, Cariappa’s pivotal role in shaping the Indian military from colonial to independent India remains revered. His leadership during a crucial transitional phase established a robust and efficient military establishment. Cariappa’s election marked a significant milestone in the evolution of India’s defense sector. His enduring legacy serves as a beacon of inspiration, emphasizing the values of discipline, leadership, and unwavering dedication to the nation.

In a remarkable recognition of his outstanding contributions to the technology industry, Young Liu, the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of Foxconn, the Taiwanese multinational electronics contract manufacturer, has been bestowed with the prestigious Padma Bhushan award. Young Liu, a seasoned entrepreneur and innovator, boasts an impressive career spanning over four decades. His entrepreneurial journey began in 1988 when he founded Young Micro Systems, a motherboard company. Subsequently, in 1995, he ventured into the realm of IC design, focusing on PC chipsets. In 1997, Liu established ITE Tech, known as ITeX, marking the third successful venture in his illustrious career. Foxconn, headquartered in Taiwan, stands as the world’s largest contract manufacturer, responsible for assembling approximately 70% of iPhones.

The 69th edition of the Filmfare Awards 2024 took place in Gandhinagar, Gujarat. The event featured hosting by Karan Johar, and performances by Kareena Kapoor, Karisma Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, and Kartik Aaryan among others. This year, the two-day celebration in Gujarat opened with a Curtain Raiser, leading up to the Filmfare Awards ceremony. The 69th Hyundai Filmfare Awards 2024 with Gujarat Tourism was held in GIFT City, Gujarat.  The Filmfare Awards 2024 celebrated the finest achievements in Indian cinema. Here’s a glimpse of the notable winners honored for their outstanding contributions in various categories, showcasing excellence and talent in the film industry.

Jannik Sinner secured his first Grand Slam in men’s singles, while Aryna Sabalenka claimed her second in women’s singles. Rohan Bopanna, at 43, became the oldest man to win men’s doubles. Hsieh Su-Wei and Elise Mertens won women’s doubles, and Hsieh, with Jan Zielinski, clinched mixed doubles. Jannik Sinner (Italy) claimed his maiden Grand Slam title, defeating Daniil Medvedev in a thrilling five-set Australian Open final in Melbourne. He became the 27th different men’s singles winner in Melbourne since the Open era began in 1969 and the first Italian to achieve this feat.

In a display of exceptional batting, Hyderabad’s Tanmay Agarwal scored an unbeaten 323 off just 160 balls against Arunachal Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy Plate Group game. His innings included 33 fours and 21 sixes, showcasing his aggressive batting style. Agarwal achieved his triple century in a record 147 balls, surpassing the previous record of 191 balls set by Marco Marais. This feat also marked the second-fastest triple ton by time, taking 183 minutes.

Indian batting maestro Virat Kohli was crowned the ICC men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 for his excellent run in the format last year headlined by a phenomenal outing in the World Cup at home. This is the fourth such award for Kohli, who was the second most prolific run-scorer in ODIs last year behind compatriot Shubman Gill. The former India skipper finished the year with 1,377 runs which included six centuries and eight half-centuries.

The vibrant hues of oranges and the aroma of citrus filled the air as the 4th edition of the Rüsoma Orange Festival unfolded in the picturesque village of Rüsoma, nestled in the Kohima district in Nagaland. With approximately 3400 attendees, this year’s event showcased the best of organic produce, community spirit, and rural entrepreneurship. The festivities commenced on January 24th, igniting excitement among visitors and locals alike. As the sun rose over Rüsoma, stalls adorned with succulent oranges lined the festival grounds, offering a visual feast for attendees.

In a significant turn of events ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, Janata Dal-United (JDU) chief Nitish Kumar was sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister for the ninth time, breaking ties with the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ and securing support from the BJP. The swearing-in ceremony, held at Raj Bhavan in Patna, saw Bihar Governor Rajendra Arlekar administering the oath of office.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

No comments to show.